What I learned about Twitter.

I’ve opened an account on Twitter, way back when I was younger.  At first, I was mainly a retweeter, knowing full well that I had nothing to share.  Then, a few months later, I decided to jump in the sharing bandwagon.  Now, Twitter is like high school and a Middle Eastern bazaar.  You got your cliques, your divas and your drama (just like high school) and people trying to sell their work, hoping that they’d be the next Dostoevsky or something.  And this is where I’ve used the same technique as in high school:  steer away from it all.

You may ask yourself why I decided to write this post.  Simple.  I decided, last night, to lower my joke production, which represents a large chunk of my tweets.  People need to laugh and I’ve tried to provide that to others.  Sometimes, they were met with laughter and sometimes, they were not.  Now, I’m not complaining about that.  I mean, people have lives of their own and they’re not glued to their Twitter account, like yours truly.  Yet, it takes a second to reply, at any given time of the day.  I mean, it takes two to tango.

Earlier, I compared this social media behemoth to high school or a bazaar.  In retrospect, I’ve realized that it was more akin to Hotel California.  “You can check out (or log out) anytime you like, but you can never leave”.  That is why I decided that I’ll return to the reading aspect of Twitter and focus on that, rather than focusing on creating my own tweets.

Leave a Reply

