I’m fed up.

I’ve had a good run on Twitter.  Nay, a great run.  I’ve made people laugh, I’ve made them share their works, all over the place.  I’ve opened up and I’ve received other confidences from others.  I will take these confidences with me, to the tomb I’ll inhabit, in many years from now.  It’s been my place to shine, away from the hubbub of real life.  My cabaret.

Yet, it’s time for me to go.  The spark is gone, the clown is a fucking sad person, now. Tweets are sent but are not read.  Messages are sent, but are avoided, as if they were the plague.  Laughs aren’t the guffaws and groans I used to get.  It’s the last call, folks.  The bar is closed.  The thrill is gone.  I’m willing to bet all the money I have (and I don’t have much) that this post will be read by a few people and avoided by others.  I respect their call and apologize if I’ve caused something that called for this.

It could be said that the algorithms are to blame, with regards to the lack of reception of my not-so-great jokes, but I’m sure that there are deeper causes, potentially much more negative, than mere 0s and 1s.  That is why I’m pulling the plug on my account, at an undetermined date, in the near future.  I will still be reachable, via other means, such as this blog or my beloved email.

It has been quite a ride and I cannot thank you enough, for all these moments you’ve given me and that boost knowing that I make you laugh has given to my self-esteem.  It’s not an easy post to write and I hope to see you again, either in a bar or a book signing.  Write on, folks!

 

11 comments

    • Alex Micati

      I’ll still be around, for these great conversations. You got a great mind, my friend. Always cherish it! 🙂

      Like

    • Alex Micati

      It’s not an easy decision to make, so I’m still weighing pros and cons. I, too, hope I’ll stay on. 🙂

      Like

  1. godsmonstersandsmut

    Meh. Fuck em. Do what brings you joy, but just bear in mind that for every 400 people who don’t get you, there’s that tiny segment of the population who thinks you’re awesome. AND, there are always new people to meet. 😉

    Like

    • Alex Micati

      If only it were that easy. I’m not a highly sociable guy, so I got to keep any link I can create, even if it’s a dead end. I’m thankful and humbled that so many people out there think that what I do is awesome, even if what I do is basic stuff. In fact, that was what pushed me to write this post. It was a way of saying that I can’t do it all, anymore and that more people needed to be friendly. Social media, after all. Not social me-dia.

      Like

      • godsmonstersandsmut

        Yeah, I get that. I just hate that you’d pull away from the good people in order to avoid the bad ones. I don’t think it’s necessary to keep all links open. If something isn’t working, focus on the things that are.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Alex Micati

        I agree that I need to focus on the working things. It’s just that the bad ones were good people, way back when. People with whom I had interactions, laughs, moments, and so on. Then, all of a sudden, a cold shoulder. A flipping cold shoulder! I guess this shows how naive I was (and still am), in front of this universe.

        Like

  2. morganwoeste

    I hope you change your mind too, I know we don’t talk often but you are always encouraging and thoughtful on everything i post. There have been several days were I haven’t really wanted to write but your kind words have pushed me forward and it is because of amazing people like you that the rough draft of my book is finished. I’m beyond thankful to you for all of encouragement as i am sure others are. Please feel free to reach out and talk at any point of time. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Alex Micati

      It’s mostly because of you that it is, my friend. We were just there as support. You got this, my friend, and I will make sure to reach out, on a more regular basis. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

